A reader's random ramblings

The year that was 2012

How has 2012 been for you? A good year; or one that you can’t see the end of quickly enough?

As it rapidly draws to a close, I find myself feeling melancholy as I reflect upon the year that was. 2012 has been a year of full of both adventure and challenges. I know that, on balance, it has been a very, very good year. I am very aware of the many blessings in my life, and am also very aware that there are many others around me who have faced, or continue to face, difficult trials.

Despite what I know about how wonderful the year has been; I’m not very good at looking back and appreciating it. Instead, I feel eager to move forward into the new year.

20121217-143430.jpg

I feel more than ready to turn the page, and what I’d like to do is set a few goals for myself to motivate me for the year ahead.

Do you set yourself goals? Something along the lines of “This year, I will attempt one new recipe each week.” or “This year, I will train for, and run in, one half-marathon.” (FYI, only one of these examples has any chance of actually making it onto my goal list – guess which one!?!)

I haven’t set myself goals like this in previous years. Usually I write myself a list of “intentions” for the year; things that I want to make a priority in my life. For 2013, I’d like to get a bit more specific. I do, however, need a little bit of inspiration, and I’d love to hear your ideas. Is there a new skill that you’d like to learn in 2013? A target that you’d like to achieve? Something that you want to tick off your bucket list or something that you thought you’d have achieved by now? If so, please let me know in the comments.

I find each new year an exciting prospect, but right now I feel like I just need a little bit of a kick-start to get my enthusiasm going. I hope that I come up with a set of goals that has me leaping out of bed in the morning, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed ready for each day!

I’d love to know how you’re feeling too. How are you coping with the end-of-year/Christmas roller coaster?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2012 by and tagged .
December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
