A reader's random ramblings

Not a domestic goddess

I totally suck at being a housewife.

Let’s back it up a little bit so I can start making sense, shall we?

I am blessed to have a house that we are paying off, bit by bit. I’m content with it’s size and shape and the configuration of rooms. I don’t want, or need, any more.

What I’m not always happy with is the state of my house.

My hopes and dreams are to have a beautiful home. A clean and well-decorated haven, free from clutter and full of light.

What I have instead is unclean, untidy, cluttered and mismatched. Sigh.

In my imagination I’m industrious and creative and passionate enough about making my house beautiful to work energetically at cleaning and tidying and decorating.

In reality, I have no aptitude or interest for the house-keeping arts. It’s “not my gift”, as they say. I get by doing the bare minimum of housecleaning, and the mere thought of a big project like a spring clean literally terrifies me. I only enjoy hard work in very small bursts. Some of you may think that I’m joking, but I’m really not. The state of my curtains and the dust under the beds dismays me, and I can feel the sheer weight of all the crap around the house suffocating me, and yet I don’t really know where to start in addressing the problem.

I’d love to move on to the fun part – having a clean slate on which to carefully place only things that are necessary and beautiful and that I love. I fear that I will never find that slate under all the mess, and that the only way I’ll get a clean slate is by running away to an empty house and starting over.

And although I’m fairly serious in what I said above, I know that it’s not really possible to run away from things in your life that you’re not happy with. What I really need to do is to look clearly at where I am today, and make plans for how I’m going to get to where I want to be, one step at a time. This is my life, and I’m a big girl, and I have the power to make decisions and changes to reach my goals.

And so, I’m going to turn my dismay into delight, and the feeling of being overwhelmed into the satisfaction of accomplishment. One little step at a time.

I think I’ll start with the bathroom, being the smallest room it might be the easiest!

20120917-152856.jpg
“Before”

20120917-153920.jpg
“After” LOL

If you have any tips for me I’d gratefully receive them. Just remember, I’m not good at hard work! So tricks for doing things quickly and easily would be fabulous 🙂

2 comments on “Not a domestic goddess

  1. Amanda Levy
    September 17, 2012

    Love this blog Fiona – I totally know where you are coming from, cleaning is not my forte either – I do the minimum and I give myself permission to be OK with that…Small steps are the way to go..10 min bursts…Happy Cleaning!

  2. Pingback: Master task avoider at work « A reader's random ramblings

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2012 by and tagged .
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
