A reader's random ramblings

Being home

Arriving home after over five weeks of travel leaves me feeling a bit like I’ve been down the rabbit hole. I feel like I’ve been adrift, traveling through space and time, with nothing to anchor me to normality. Now that I’m back, I almost feel like I don’t know if I’ve been away a minute, a day, a month, or a decade. What has changed while I’ve been gone? What is exactly the same? What have I missed?

Usually, I’m very much a creature of habit. I like to have a routine. Traveling has been a time of freedom from many of my regular responsibilities. A time in which my regular schedule has been completely discarded.

What is most odd about my feeling of dislocation, is the fact that now that I am home, I feel more like me. For some reason, I don’t feel completely and authentically me without at least some of my normal “surroundings”. It’s not only just my need to be “home”, though I’m sure that is a big part of it. Important also is the space and time to be alone after spending so long with my family 24/7. But interestingly, my regular chores and habits seem to go a long way towards helping me to feel content and normal.

I wonder if it is that way for everyone, or only some people?

I wonder how many others find themselves relishing the thought of getting back into routine after returning from a big adventure?

I’m so glad that I traveled with my wonderful family. I can’t even imagine how it would have felt to have been away from home and not have them with me.

20120801-054929.jpg

20120801-055757.jpg

20120801-061220.jpg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2012 by and tagged , .
August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
