A reader's random ramblings

Easy Apple Slice

You may be wondering why I haven’t blogged much lately.

Obviously I’ve been busy, but it’s been that odd sort of busy where I can’t really pinpoint what I’ve been so busy doing.

Running errands and such like.

Sadly, my grandmother passed away recently after a long illness.

20120613-082252.jpg

Here’s a gorgeous photo of her as a young woman.

20120613-082351.jpg

The funeral is today, and I have made an apple slice for the afternoon tea.

It’s a very easy recipe, and the slice is always popular, so I’m sharing it here.

Easy Apple Slice
Ingredients
1 packet vanilla or butter cake mix
1 cup desiccated coconut
125g butter, melted
1 tin pie apples
1 carton sour cream
Cinnamon
Method
Combine cake mix, coconut and butter in a bowl. The mixture will only just combine, and will be quite crumbly.
Press mixture firmly into a greased and lined slice tin. (I make sure that the baking paper comes right up the sides of the tin so that I will be able to pull the slice out easily when it’s cooked.)
Bake in a moderate oven (180-190 degrees C) for 20 minutes.
Spread pie apples evenly over the hot slice base.
Top the slice with sour cream. (This bit is tricky because the sour cream is thick. I blob little bits of sour cream over the surface of the apples and go slowly and carefully.)
Sprinkle cinnamon over the sour cream.
Return the slice to the oven to bake for a further 15 minutes.
Refrigerate the slice until firm, cut into pieces, serve and enjoy!

20120613-083536.jpg

One comment on “Easy Apple Slice

  1. Dillypoo
    June 14, 2012

    So sorry to hear about your grandmother. My grandparents passed about 12 years ago, and I still miss them. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2012 by and tagged , .
June 2012
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
