A reader's random ramblings

Today I’m feeling…

Being Mum to a boy has its own special challenges.

I’ve never been a boy myself. I don’t know how it feels to be in a boy’s body. I don’t know how it feels to be a boy in the classroom or playground. I don’t know how it feels to be a son or a brother.

I do believe that boys and girls are the same in lots of ways, but as Josh grows taller and taller, the ways in which boys and girls differ is becoming more and more apparent.

I’ve always read a lot about parenting, and I’m trying to muster up a toolkit of strategies that will help me to sail through the teenage years.

Something I’ve read about is the fact that boys sometimes have trouble expressing how they’re feeling. Sometimes they don’t even have words to put to the emotions that they’re experiencing. When boys are overwhelmed with emotion, they often default to anger. (I think some men do this too.) It’s generally more socially acceptable for boys to be angry than to express other challenging feelings. Also, boys often end up feeling angry; even if they start out feeling something else; if they don’t know what it is, or how to express it, or how to feel better.

I’d like to find a way to help Josh to put words to what he’s feeling and learn to express those feelings appropriately. As a first step, I’ve made a list of feeling words that I’ve pinned up on the fridge.

20120530-135141.jpg

I figure that, at the very least, it’s a good way for us all to expand our vocabularies!

I did a google search and found my list at this address.

I’m not sure that I agree that every single word on the list is truly an emotion, but I guess that we can use that as a talking point amongst us. We can also try to find opposites on the list and decide which words on the list describe similar feelings. I hope the list will be helpful to all of us, not just Josh.

I’d love your feedback and to hear about your own experiences raising boys.

2 comments on “Today I’m feeling…

  1. Taylah
    May 30, 2012

    Hi Fiona I torally agree with you boys usually revert to anger when they can’t understand or talk about what they feel.. We have been using the anger volcano as a way

  2. Dillypoo
    May 31, 2012

    Being barren by choice, I have no pearls of wisdom on raising children. But I’ll do my bit and take the boy on a roller coaster when he’s here. Maybe a few death defying drops and some healthy screaming (at least from me) will help!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2012 by and tagged , .
May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
