A reader's random ramblings

Reading Round-up

Whatcha been reading?

I’m always reading something.

I have a lot of blogs in my Google Reader.

I enjoy newspapers.

I read a lot of professional literature for my work.

But best all of, I like to read novels.

I don’t buy a whole lot of books for myself, but I do like to buy them as presents for others. Sometimes the books are lent back to me to read (wink, wink).

I recently finished Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, the third book in the Hunger Games trilogy.

20120519-154125.jpg

The most fun for me: discussing the ending with Alana afterwards. She was disappointed and found it unsatisfying. I said that I understood how she felt, and that while it certainly wasn’t a traditional happy ending, it seemed to me to be an appropriate ending given all the social upheaval and loss that the characters experienced. Moments like those; being able to discuss my response to a great story with someone I love; those moments are gold to me.

I also recently borrowed Cross by James Patterson from the library.

20120519-155039.jpg

I’ve read a lot of Patterson over the years; he writes reliably suspenseful thrillers. You know what you’re getting with his books, and sometimes it’s just what I feel like reading.

I also might have accidentally bought myself Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris. The latest book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. Maybe you’ve heard of True Blood, the TV series based on the books?

20120519-160021.jpg

To tell you the truth, this series has lost its magic for me. A couple of books ago. But I’ve read this far, and enjoyed so many of the books so much, that I cannot let go. I keep reading and hoping that the magic is going to return but it never does. This episode doesn’t even have any steamy sex scenes to redeem it. Sad face.

At the moment I’m reading Passion by Lauren Kate. The third book in a not-very-well-written trilogy (in my opinion).

20120519-162124.jpg

I got sucked into buying the first two books in the series by their magnificent covers. I literally could not resist. The story premise sounded excellent; it was the execution that I felt was lacking. In saying this, the books have sold many, many copies; so lots of other people must disagree with me. I’ve held off on buying Passion because of my disappointment with Fallen and Torment. I don’t believe in spending money on books that I don’t think are very good. I’ve borrowed Passion from the library and I’m giving it a go.

Also on my to-be-read shelf:

20120519-163703.jpg

20120519-163758.jpg

20120519-163843.jpg

How about you? What have you been reading? Have you got any recommendations for me?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2012 by and tagged .
May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
