A reader's random ramblings

Note to self: I don’t make the world turn.

I can’t seem to get to the bottom of my “to do” list lately.

What do you do when you’re starting to find life overwhelming?

Here a three ideas that help me.

1. Just keep swimming.

20120504-153352.jpg

Remember Dory from Finding Nemo? I love Dory, because she’s a complete and utter optimist. Her exhortation to “just keep swimming” reminds me of another famous quotation, this one from Winston Churchill:

If you’re going through hell, keep going.

Not that I’m suggesting to you that I’m going through hell. Nothing that dramatic! I just appreciate the idea that when things are difficult, it’s best to just put one foot in front of the other and keep moving.

2. Tell a friend.

I had coffee with two of my besties today, and I made sure to let them know that I’d been struggling a bit. It was great to get it off my chest.

I encourage you all to find at least one person that you can vent to when necessary. I’m happy to be that person for you if you need me to!

3. Just say no.

20120504-161029.jpg

And I’m not talking about drugs.

Feeling overwhelmed is usually a sign that there are some things that I have said “yes” to that I should have said “no” to. I believe that removing a couple of obligations from my life is a sensible response to feeling overwhelmed.

Repeat after me, everyone: there is no shame in doing less.

There is also absolutely no need for us to compare ourselves, and what we do or don’t do, with anyone else. We all need to run our own races. We have different circumstances and different needs.

It’s important to remember that the number of items ticked off our “to do” lists is not a measure of our worth.

20120504-193743.jpg

Sometimes I also have to remind myself that I don’t carry the world on my shoulders. I don’t make the world turn. Thank goodness.

One comment on “Note to self: I don’t make the world turn.

  1. nazarioartpainting
    May 9, 2012

    I enjoyed read your blog today. Nice.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2012 by and tagged .
May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
