A reader's random ramblings

Old friends, high tea and photo fail

Don’t you just hate it when you do something blog-worthy and then don’t take any photos to prove it?

Back in the olden days, when I blogged from my laptop, I’d simply search Google Images and find a suitable picture to put into my post. Things aren’t so simple now that I blog from my iPad. I can really only add images from my photo albums.

And so, here is the most pathetic image possible to go with this post about visiting The Tea Room at the QVB for “high tea” today: a screen capture of a Google Images search. I suck.

20120414-182044.jpg

Anyway…

Guess what? Today I went to The Tea Room in The Queen Victoria Building for a traditional “high tea”. You know what I mean, where you are served crustless sandwiches and petit fours on a three tiered cake stand with a pot of tea?

The food and tea was delightful, as expected. But what really made the day special was the company.

I graduated from high school a long time ago, but I still keep in touch with a group of girlfriends from my school days. Over the years we’ve each been through the ups and downs that life brings. Remaining friends has been the easy part.

Today we met to celebrate the fact that one of us is pregnant!

For me, the days of pregnancy, childbirth, breast feeding, sleepless nights and cleaning up poo are far behind! (Praise the Lord!) But not everyone’s life follows the same path, or goes at the same pace; and my beautiful friend Nicole is looking forward to welcoming a bundle of joy in June.

Apparently Nicole’s Mum is so excited that she keeps telling everyone that she’s having a baby! Which is very sweet. I have a feeling that this baby will not want for much!

In other news, another of my school mates has just exchanged contracts on her first house! After several years of living in a “granny flat” with her parents; she, her husband, and their daughter will finally have their very own place to call home.

It’s lovely to celebrate each other’s successes in life; always knowing that we’ll be there to support one another in the hard times too.

Do you still keep in touch with any school friends?

One comment on “Old friends, high tea and photo fail

  1. Dillypoo
    April 16, 2012

    I have four girlfriends who have been my best friends since high school. Only one still lives close by, but we all stay in touch frequently and we try to get together for a “wild woman” weekend every few years. Can’t imagine my life without them!

    You can save images from the interwebs to your iPad. You just have to put your finger on the image for a second until a box pops up asking you to save or copy. Select save and it will go into your photo album! If you’re searching google images, you may have to go to the image’s website to save a higher res photo, tho.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2012 by and tagged .
April 2012
M T W T F S S
    May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
